Numbness Part II

Although when I had my bout with numbness I my right hand, tongue and wrist two weeks ago and went to the ER, I
chalked it up to being a migraine symptom, I was unprepared to have it all again the following Friday. Especially since I didn’t get a migraine either time…not that I’m complaining about that! I just don’t know WHY it’s happening.

I had hoped Dr. Kwan would express a little more interest in that, but I kind of blew it off as a symptom of migraines and we left it that I’d address it with a neurologist. It had only
happened once at the time of our appointment, so I may have pushed it a bit more had it happened the 2nd time.

At this point,the two common denominators associated with both times it has happened are that I was laying and sleeping on the couch on my right side for some time…..and it was Friday! LOL Somehow I doubt the later is a reason.

I was also wondering if I may have some nerve damage in that hand/arm. When I came out of surgery, I had some pretty
horrific black and blue marks over the entire surface of the inside of my lower right arm due to IVs and blood being taken. I had them in both arms, but the right arm was horrible for weeks. So, I’m wondering if one of those did some damage….I just don’t know and probably won’t know until I can get in to see a neurologist. I currently don’t have one, so I’ll need to get some referrals from people. Kelli, my nurse from Health Reach, is going to look into some people in my area instead of in Scarborough, which would be great.

It Goes Like This

My days now go something like this.

I awake around 7:00 with a headache. I get up pretty much only so I can eat breakfast and take a pill…these days only Tylenol thankfully. I only take the Vicadin if it’s a sever headache and haven’t had to do that since last Friday.

I do some things around the house…slowly, usually sitting. Then I lay down or sit down for awhile.

I’ll check my email. I lay down or sit down for awhile.

I do some things around the house…slowly, usually sitting. Then I lay down or sit down for awhile.

I’ll eat lunch. I’ll take a pill again if needed.

I’ll check my email. I lay down or sit down for awhile.

I do some things around the house…slowly, usually sitting. Then I lay down or sit down for awhile.

Either Dave or I will fix supper. We’ll eat supper. I’ll take a pill again if needed.

Then I lay down or sit down for awhile.

I’ll go to bed and take a pill before hand if needed.

Yep, that’s about it. I’m hoping to weed out one of those.
Then I lay down or sit down for awhile. Next week.

Phase 3

I think this is phase 3 of my recovery.

It’s the time where people don’t even respond to my “reports” on how I’m doing anymore. They’ve been there, done that, so why bother. I’m sure it’s something like: “I’ve already told her I was glad she survived, I have better things to do”.

OR, could it be I’m missing human contact (other than Dave. He must be sick of me!) or that I have PMS….or that depression phase I’ve been hearing so many people say I might experience is happening. Just not sure.

I think that “cooped up feeling” is going to start too, but I just can’t do too much yet, so this could be a test the next couple of weeks.

Hell, I’ve survived worse.

Laundry

Well, I guess this is a big step. I did two loads of laundry yesterday for the first time. Goody!?!?!?

I took it slow, basically leaned into the washing machine trying not to bend over too much and sat on the floor to
unload the dryer. But even with all those “precautions”, I was still mentally,visually and physically exhausted and had a lovely headache all day.

But I did it.