First Day Back at Work

I went in for my first day of work yesterday. I showered the night before, so all I would have to do was fix my hair and face, eat breakfast and get my clothes pressed. Turns out, that may have been too much! LOL At least I’m not used to doing those things in a hurry anymore, so I was tired before I ever sat down in the car. Dave drove me to work.

Two other people have been using my office since I was last there on Oct. 4th, so I spend most of the day taking back my office, computer and my files. I had a lot of filing to do.

Just as it was when I arrive home from the hospital, it was a bit of a time warp in my office. File folders waiting for jobs to be completed and filed the week of Oct. 5th, were still sitting there on my desk. The catalog pages I had completed and had proofed, were sitting on my desk. My clock had stopped. My calendar on the wall was still on October. Just very strange. I had to become reacquainted with my office and my “stuff”.

I brought along some healthy snacks to munch on and made myself get up from my computer and walk down to the lunchroom to get them, as well as drank a lot of water. I was hoping to work until 4:00, which a lot of people thought highly ambitious my first day back. Turns out, they may have been right. Around noon time, I was pretty sure I shouldn’t push it until 4:00. I listened to my body today. I knew I probably COULD stay there until 4:00, but knew I SHOULDN’T.

So, after I ate and closed my eyes again for 10 minutes, for the 2nd time that day, I let Dave know I would need to come home. God bless him, he left immediately and drove the 30 miles up to pick me up. I was horribly tired and had a pretty nasty headache for about four hours in the evening.

Today, my head feels better, but I’m really, really dragging. I’ll try the work thing again tomorrow and see if it
continues to get better.

It was great to see everyone again. I really missed them and their humor. I laughed a lot, which I needed. I missed
the social interaction and feeling a part of something. It was small taste of getting my independence back again.

I am, by no means, ready for a 40 hours work week. But it’s a small step forward.

Speaking of work…

…I’m going back. Not full time just yet, but to start to get back into the swing of things for two days a week. I HAVE been doing ads from home and a few other small projects, but at home, I’m afforded the luxury of being able to stop whenever and go lay down, or just rest or do some therapy. In the office, I’ll have to FORCE myself to stop and rest. I have a tendency to just sit for hours, then realize I skipped lunch! Somehow, I don’t think my head of body will allow myself to do that anymore.

I really KNOW when I haven’t eaten for a little bit. My head hurts more and I get the shakes…far more than I used to. The only “side effects” I’m having as a result of the ruptured
aneurysm and the surgery, are a headache, tiredness and the shaking. Mostly in my right hand, but both hands can be effected if I haven’t eaten in awhile, or do too much.

I always used to have a small shake, but it’s much more pronounced now and the rupture & surgery is the only thing that has really changed…..well, that and the fact I’ve become so darn lazy. I SIT very well!

Thank God It’s Thursday?

I haven’t had a pill-free day since Sunday. My head is bothering me both at night and in the morning. I think part
of it is sinus, part of it is aneurysm and part of it is how I’m sleeping. I feel pretty lousy when I first wake up in the morning and I’m noticing if I don’t eat a snack between meals, if the meal is delayed, I get a pretty painful headache.

Sneezing is still horrible and the pain lingers long after. I guess there really isn’t anything I can do about that. Time will have to heal it.

I get out of breath and pretty tired doing simple things still and I haven’t driven. Soon I hope!

Two Months Ago

Two months ago, my brain aneurysm ruptured and all hell began. This morning, I awoke to bright sunshine, my kitties in bed with me and my Maine man ready to cart me all over again. LOL

I had two appointments in Waterville and Winslow, then a planned trip back to the dreaded Rite-Aid. The drive in wasn’t bad and my appointments didn’t poop me out too bad.

We stopped for lunch, then hit Rite-Aid. I was very apprehensive, but it wasn’t bad. Well, not NEARLY as bad as it was the first time I went in. Things were still a little dizzying, but not too bad. I was pleased. Had a slight head-ache when I left, but it didn’t leave me feeling horrible the rest of the afternoon like it did last time. Progress or a fluke? Time will tell.

On this day I was reminded of the days that have gone by and how much Dave has done for me and how he has been by my side every step of the way. I feel so inadequate in my thanks to him. I just don’t seem to think of anything or any words that can adequately express how much I love and appreciate everything he’s done. I’d do the same for him, so I guess we’re in this together.